Enter the Patient Safety Learning Awards 2019

  • 15th July 2019

The Patient Safety Learning Awards 2019 are here!

The Patient Safety Learning Awards publicly acknowledge and celebrate important work in patient safety, while sharing learning and successes to improve patient safety.

This year, our Awards – like our conference – are inspired by our latest report, A Blueprint for Action. A Blueprint for Action sets out actions needed to progress towards a patient-safe future. These address six foundations of safer care for patients - one of these foundations is shared learning.

As A Blueprint for Action states: “If patients are to be safer, we need people and organisations to share learning when they respond to incidents of avoidable harm, and when they develop good practice for making care safer.”

Six categories in 2019

The Awards this year have six different categories, based on our foundations for safer care:

  • shared learning for patient safety
  • leadership for patient safety
  • professionalising patient safety
  • patient engagement for patient safety
  • data and insight for patient safety
  • patient safety culture

A seventh award, the Patient Safety Learning Award, will be made to the individual, team or organisation who our judges believe has gone above and beyond. Each winning entry will receive a cash prize to enable them to visit another team or organisation to learn more about patient safety.

As well as this prize, winners will receive two complimentary tickets to our annual conference, awards and drinks reception, held in London on 2 October 2019.

Tell us what you've been doing to make care safer for patients – enter our awards.

The deadline for entries has been extended to 5pm on Monday 9 September.

Website icons awards


A platform for anyone with an interest in patient safety to share and learn from one another. Learn more.

Sign up to our newsletter