What our Standards cover

Based on our original research and policy document A Blueprint for Action (2018), Patient Safety Learning has identified seven Foundations for patient safety:

  • Leadership and Governance
  • Culture
  • Shared Learning
  • Professionalisation of Patient Safety
  • Patient Engagement
  • Data and Insight
  • Delivery of Patient Safety Services

Each of these Foundations is supported by specific patient safety Aims, totalling 26 across all seven.

The seven Foundations for patient safety

Underpinning each Foundation and Aim, there are a series of clearly defined Standards that explain what an organisation must do to deliver against their specific requirements. For each Standard, there are details of evidence-based outputs, outcomes and behaviours required to enable an organisation to demonstrate achievement against those Standards.

In total, there are 144 identified Standards. These represent the core for any organisational safety improvement strategy and delivery plan.

Below is an example of the Standards, taken from our 'What Good Looks Like' manual:

Patient Safety Standards Example

A platform for anyone with an interest in patient safety to share and learn from one another. Learn more.

Sign up to our newsletter