Patient Safety Learning Awards 2019

Tell us what you've been doing to make care safer for patients.

The Patient Safety Learning Awards 2019 is one of the ways Patient Safety Learning is improving shared learning. Shared learning is one of our six foundations of safer care for patients, along with leadership, professionalising patient safety, patient engagement, data and insight, and culture. You can find out more about each of these six foundations in our latest report, A Blueprint for Action.

Do you have a patient safety initiative to share with us? Enter our awards so we can publicly acknowledge and celebrate your success. By working together in this way, we can improve shared learning and help to make care safer for patients.

Who is eligible to enter the awards?

The awards are open to everyone, whether you are an individual, a team, or an organisation in the NHS, social care, private sector, community, patient group or charity. Feel free to nominate yourself, or your team or organisation.

What are the categories and prizes?

There are six different categories, each one based on our six foundations for safer care - shared learning, leadership, professionalising patient safety, patient engagement, data and insight, and culture.

One winner will be chosen from each of the categories. Each of these six winners will receive £500 towards visiting any destination where they can learn more about patient safety. If you have entered or nominated a team, rather than an individual, the prize money will be split between each person in that team. The money will be used to pay in whole or in part for travel, accommodation and subsistence for a visit to another location for the purposes of learning about patient safety.

We will also be awarding a seventh award, the Patient Safety Learning Award, to the individual, team or organisation who our judges believe has gone above and beyond. This winner will be selected from among all the nominations, regardless of which category they have entered. The winning individual or team will receive £2,000 towards their learning visit.

All seven winners will also receive two complimentary tickets to our annual conference, awards and drinks reception, which will be held in London on 2 October 2019.

What are the judging criteria?

We want to hear about how you have made a difference to patient safety. In particular, our judges will be asking:

  • How easy will it be for others, including those from other specialities, to learn from your initiative and adopt it themselves?
  • How sustainable is your initiative?
  • How inspiring is the initiative? How have people recognised its value?
  • What evidence have you given us?

Each of the six categories will be judged against four key elements, namely vision, outcome, adaptability and involvement. The nomination form, which you'll be required to complete should you enter the awards, will provide more information on each of these.

How will judging take place?

There will be two stages of judging in order to provide a fair and transparent process. The first stage will be remote judging. Once the deadline for award entries has passed, submissions will be sent to our judges for their review.

For the second stage of judging, the judges will come together and review each other's scores and commentary. This phase aims to provide a check and balance on any anomalies in scoring. Judges are asked to amend scores where necessary and add additional commentary.

How do I enter?

Enter by downloading our nomination form. The form includes details about each of our six categories and how we will be judging your submissions. The form also includes guidance, such as maximum word count, what to include and where to send your submission once it's complete.

The deadline for entries has been extended to 5pm on Monday 9 September 2019.

When will I know the results?

Judging will commence in September, and we'll let you know that same month whether you have been successful.

Our winners will be awarded publicly after the Patient Safety Learning Annual Conference, which will take place on 2 October 2019 at The King's Fund in London.

Our seven winners will receive two complimentary tickets each to attend our conference and awards ceremony.

Anything else I need to know?

Prize-winners will be required to send a report of their visit to Patient Safety Learning for publication.

By entering for these awards, you give Patient Safety Learning the right to publish your entry, including in an edited form, on our website, social media and in print. Award winners will be requested to make themselves available for interview.

Got it. I'm ready to enter...

Download a nomination form now to get started. We're looking forward to hearing all about your initiative and working with you to improve shared learning!

A platform for anyone with an interest in patient safety to share and learn from one another. Learn more.

Sign up to our newsletter